The Gotta Minute 2015 program was selected by a “blind” jury made up of three local Media Arts Experts.   We are grateful for their care, artistic sensibility, and good humour in selecting 36 shorts from 82 submissions.  Given the quality of submissions, it was a challenge indeed!


Screen shot 2015-09-09 at 11.39.53 PM 




Mark Connolly is the host of CBC radio’s morning show Edmonton AM. He is also an Olympic commentator for CBC television, having covered 9 Olympics for the network. Mark grew up in Edmonton and is a big fan of all genres of film. For Gotta Minute, Mark embodies the Spirit of Edmonton and kindly selected the 2016 Spirit of Edmonton Award winning film.




The Gotta Minute Children’s Show Reel was selected by an enthusiastic panel of librarians from the Edmonton Public Library:  Jen Waters, Nancy Sheng, Christine Mennear, and Bronwyn Hartman.  We are grateful for their involvement in this community initiative and for the tremendous in-kind support we have received from the Edmonton Public Library, recipient of the  2014 Library of the Year Award!



Jury Awards
Our independent Jurors selected the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Place Awards as well as the Best Animated Short Award and Best Documentary Award.


Program for Young Audiences Award
The GOTTA MINUTE Kids’ Reel of 10 one-minute shorts was selected from the main program of 36 Shorts by a panel of Librarians at the EPL Milner Library.

  • The Panel of Librarians also selected the Best Short for Young Audiences Award


Community Awards
The Community Guest Judge, someone who embodies the “Spirit of Edmonton”, selects our two local awards: the Spirit of Edmonton Award and the Best Local Youth Short Award.

  • The community awards are open to filmmakers based in Edmonton and area.


Online Community Award
Online Votes will determine the Audience Choice Award, which will be announced at the Festival Awards Celebration September 20th and online after the Festival end date.

  • Only ONE VOTE/DAY/DEVICE [IP] will be considered in the tally.


Awards Celebration
The GOTTA MINUTE 2016 award winning One Minute Shorts will be feted at the GOTTA MINUTE Awards Celebration (see Events for details).